How Many Leads Per Month Should You Be Generating?
Written by Alex Embling
Mar 20 2018
We review HubSpot research to determine the lead averages different industries should be hitting.
What Number of Leads Per Month Should I Be Generating?
Adopting an Inbound Marketing campaign enables strategic targeting, realistic goal setting and visibility on return on investment (ROI). But how many leads, on average could you expect to generate in a month and what approximate percentage success rate can be applied?
The numbers vary from industry to industry and from company to company. Results will depend on the effectiveness of your marketing strategy, sales strategy, the performance of your website, and the quality targeting of your content.
A Note On Assessing How Many Leads Per Month You Specifically Should Generate
Below, we detail findings on approximate lead volumes generated according to industry. However, you should note that the lead volume you specifically should aim for, will be determined by a range of factors.
An inbound marketing ROI calculator can simplify calculations to assess the lead volumes you should be aiming for to achieve ROI, based on your revenue targets.
For inbound campaigns to see success, realistic targets must be defined at the outset of the campaign; these must be considered against the overarching revenue goal, average order value, sales cycle length, conversion rates and more. For example, if your goal is to achieve a particular number of leads within a set timeframe, make sure your traffic volumes, conversion rates - and sales cycle length through the top of the funnel, can support that end number.
Lead quality is also an important consideration. You want your overarching campaign to generate a good volume of quality leads, likely to convert to MQLs and SQLs, rather than only focusing on initial lead volume.
An inbound marketing ROI calculator (see example image below) can streamline this process and simplify calculations to assess the lead volumes (leads, MQLs, SQLs) you should be aiming for to achieve ROI, based on your revenue targets.
Typically, the industries surveyed experience a similar level of traffic (10,000-50,000 monthly visits)
Financial Services is the exception; receiving the greatest level of visitors. However ultimately they receive around the same level of leads, MQLs, opportunities, and customers, which may indicate lower conversion rates.
Travel & Tourism, Software, Information Technology & Services, and Consumer Products companies show the highest numbers of leads and MQLs, but have the same number of site visits as other industries.
Travel and Tourism companies report the highest number of customers, while reporting similar numbers in other areas, which may suggest higher conversion rates.
For further evaluation, we have also analysed the figures and expressed them as percentages in the chart below.
To get an average percentage Conversion rate, we have taken the average number of Customers (from the ranges given) and divided by the average number of visitors (from the ranges given), x 100. So for example in the ‘Education’ category, if the average for Visitors is 30,000, the average for Customers is 150 - so the percentage of Customers/Visitors is 0.5%.
This visit to customer conversion figure aligns very closely with what we at Strategic would expect to see.
Although the average number of visitors generated per Industry ranges from 10,000-50,000 with the exception of Financial Services (at 50,000-100,000) when they are read as percentages, indicative conversion rates show:
Visitors to Leads/MQL range can range per industry from 1% to 2.5%
Visitors to Customers range per industry from 0.25% through to 1.16%